|Issue Type:||Shall Issue|
|Processing Time:||60 days|
|Resident Initial Cost:||$100|
|Resident Renewal Cost:||$100|
|Non-Resident Initial Cost:||$100|
|Non-Resident Renewal Cost:||$100|
Virginia Concealed Weapon Permit
Virginia has one of the concealed carry permits that we like to call a “Bonus CCW.” If you’re a resident of Virginia, it is your only option to carry a concealed handgun legally in Virginia. Also, your Virginia CCW will allow you to carry legally in 36 other states!
However, if you’re a resident of another state and you get your Non-Resident Virginia CCW, then you’ll not only be able to legally carry a concealed handgun in Virginia, you’ll also be able to carry concealed in at least 32 other states too! The Non-Resident Virginia concealed carry permit acts like a “bonus” to your home state’s CCW!
This one concealed weapons permit will let you legally carry in over half the country!
If you’re looking for more information on this, check out Why You Should Get Your Virginia CCW.
There are 3 simple step steps getting your Virginia CCW:
1. Confirm Virginia CCW Eligibility
Before applying for any CCW permit, you need to be able to lawfully possess a firearm.
There are certain classes of people who are not allowed to posses firearms or ammunition – these people are in a category called “prohibited persons.”
According to RocketFFL, a “prohibited person” is anyone who:
- is a felon
- has been convicted of any crime punishable by more than a year in prison (whether or not they were ever sentenced to or served a day in prison)
- is under indictment for any crime punishable by more than a year in prison
- is a fugitive
- is an unlawful user of any controlled substance
- has been adjudicated as a mental defective
- has been committed to a mental institution
- is an illegal alien
- has a dishonorable discharge from the military
- has renounced their U.S. citizenship
- is the subject of a restraining order restraining the person from harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate partner or the child of an intimate partner, or
- who has been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence
There’s a few nuances that you might need to be aware of if you think that any of these apply to you – especially the “convicted of any crime punishable by more than a year,” “unlawful user of a controlled substance,” and “restraining order” provisions. If you’d like to learn more about these prohibited person categories, see Prohibited Persons / Firearm Possession.
The Commonwealth of Virginia has some additional restrictions above and beyond federal law.
If any of the following apply to you, then they won’t issue you a Virginia concealed weapons license:
- Conviction of two or more misdemeanors within the five-year period immediately preceding the application, if one of the misdemeanors was a Class 1 misdemeanor, but the judge shall have the discretion to deny a permit for two or more misdemeanors that are not Class 1. Traffic infractions or reckless driving shall not be considered for purposes of this disqualification.
- Declared insane, mentally incompetent, or treated in a mental institution within the past 5 years
- Convicted of a DUI or for public drunkenness within the past 3 years
- Convicted of assault or of brandishing a firearm within the past 3 years
- Convicted of stalking
If you’ve made it this far and none of the above apply to you, congratulations…. you can get your Virginia CCW!
2. Complete an Approved Training Course
The Commonwealth of Virginia requires the you complete approved training conducted by certified instructors and that you include proof of the CCW training along with your application for your Virginia CCW.
You can complete your training requirements in one of two ways:
Option 1) You can find a local range, gun-shop, or “instructor” to teach you. Hopefully, their location isn’t too far away. You can then ask to see the instructor’s credentials to ensure that they are approved by Virginia, that their certifications meet the requirements, and that they are valid. Hopefully, the instructor actually knows how to teach in a professional and engaging manner. Next, look through their calendar to see when the next available training course is and hope that it’s fairly soon, that it’s not already full of other students, that it’s on a day that you can make it, that it won’t take-up your whole day (or days), and that it’s affordable (less than $100?).
Option 2) You can take the Online CCW course from RocketCCW, that is taught by an approved, certified, and professional instructor, wherever and whenever you want.
The choice is yours.
|Approved by Virginia||Maybe||Yes!|
|Instructor Background||Bubba from the local
shooting range likes guns a lot
|Former Special Operations Sniper,
|CCW Training Location||Hopefully not too far away||Wherever you have internet access!|
|CCW Training Dates||Hopefully soon and on a date you can make it||Whenever you want!|
|CCW Training Time||3+ Hours||30 Minutes|
|CCW Training Cost||$100 or more||$20|
|Virginia Application Guide||n/a||$20|
*free course and guide for a limited time only.
Hopefully, you’ve already decided that using RocketCCW looks like a smarter choice.
Sign up now for your RocketCCW Virginia Concealed Handgun Training Course.
3. Apply for Your Virginia CCW
Upon successful completion of your course, you’re ready to fill out your CCW application.
Good news: you can use RocketCCW to help you with this too! We have a FREE* Virginia CCW Application Guide that walks you through everything you need to know and it helps you make sure that your application is complete and accurate.
In order to obtain your Virginia Non-Resident Concealed Weapon Permit, you’ll need to mail the following in to the Virginia State Police:
- Non-Resident Application
- Certificate from Your Training Course
- Fingerprint Card
- Proof of ID
- Application Fee
Although there are other options for your training, RocketCCW is the only source for an application guide to help you through the process.
Our guide includes information to help you make sure that you are using the correct fingerprint card, that you photo is taken/formatted properly, and that you are answering the questions on the application properly.